18 -19 juin 2016Automobile Club de l'Ouest

Accueil > The Race > The Legend

The Legend

12000 fans 12000 followers
Share this post :
The most famous endurance race in the world, marked by sportsmanship and quest for performance, has told an heroic chapter of automobile history since 1923.

In 2013, this mythical race which has seen the most beautiful duels of manufacturers and drivers of the legend, will celebrate its 90th anniversary.

1923: First edition of the “24 Heures du Mans”

1930: Bentley wins for the 5th time, this is the saga of the “Bentley Boys”

1949: Luigi Chinetti wins the event with Ferrari

1955: A dreadful accident in the first hours of the race causing the death of 80 people

1967: The “Race of the Century”, 300,000 spectators throng to attend the fight of the duel Ford against Ferrari / Breaking through of the 5,000 km mark for the first time!

1970:  First victory for Porsche and making of the film Le Mans with Steve McQueen

1971: Flying start and not standing start anymore

1972: Matra, Pescarolo and Graham Hill win. Hill is the only driver having won in Le Mans, in Indianapolis and being F1 world champion

1980: Rondeau becomes the first driver who wins in Le Mans driving his own car

1988: Speed record of 405 km/h by the prototype WM with a Peugeot engine

1991: Victory of Mazda, first and only Japanese manufacturer having won the event

1998: 16th and last victory of Porsche. A record!

2002: Making of the film Michel Vaillant

2006: First victory of a diesel engine in Le Mans

2008: Tom Kristensen wins for the 8th time the event with Audi

2010: Lap record by the Peugeot 908 HDI FAP in 3’19”074, which means 246.463 km/h on average

2011: 13.85’’ difference on the finishing line between the winning Audi and the Peugeot

2012: A hybrid car puts its name on the list of winners: the Audi R18 e-tron quattro

2013: Victory of the Audi R18 e-tron quattro driven by the Duval / Kristensen / McNish. Nb: Ninth victory of Tom Kristensen, winners recordman.


Alfa Romeo – Aston Martin – Audi – Bentley – BMW – Bugatti – Ferrari – Ford– Jaguar– Matra – Mazda –McLaren – Mercedes – Peugeot – Porsche – Renault...


Bob Wolleck - Derek Bell – Graham Hill – Henri Pescarolo – Jacky Ickx – Mario Andretti – Paul Newman – Steve McQueen – Tom Kristensen...

Share this post :
The World Karting Championship returns to Le Mans
After 24 years of absence from the world karting stage, this year Le Mans welcomes the biggest meeting...
The World Karting Championship returns to Le Mans
> More info...
The Classic British Welcome of the 2015 24 Hours of Le Mans (video)
Every year since 2001, on the Friday before the 24 Hours of Le Mans, Saint Saturnin, a village of 2,300...
The Classic British Welcome of the 2015 24 Hours of Le Mans (video)
> More info...
Damien "Damo" Lewis (1975-2015)
It is with great sadness that we announce that Damien Lewis (Damo) has been taken from us in a tragic...
> More info...
The goods of   the official shop '24 Heures du Mans'
  • 24 Hours of Le Mans Car Onesie
  • 24 Hours of Le Mans Departure Reporter Bag
  • 2014 24 Hours of Le Mans DVD
  • 2014 24 Hours of Le Mans Book
  • 24 Hours of Le Mans Men Gulf Polo
  • 24 Hours of Le Mans Racing Softshell
  • 1959 24 Hours of Le Mans official poster
  • 24 Hours of Le Mans computer bag
  • Steve McQueen white T-shirt