Porsche to field four 911 RSRs at the 2019 24 Hours of Le Mans

Porsche to field four 911 RSRs at the 2019 24 Hours of Le Mans

Porsche is expected to field four cars in the LMGTE Pro class at the 24 Hours of Le Mans set to take place 15-16 June 2019. The German marque pulled off a one-two in the class for its 70th anniversary this year, with the #92 trailed by the #91!

With Porsche's 70th anniversary exhibition in full swing at the 24 Hours of Le Mans museum, the German manufacturer gathered together all of its directors, team managers and drivers on Saturday for the annual awards ceremony known as the Porsche Night of Champions. It is also the moment every year that Porsche announces the upcoming season's programs and drivers.

With the 2018-2019 World Endurance Championship (FIA WEC) Super Season finale taking place at Le Mans next year, the two 911 RSRs participating in the championship could be joined by two more (at the discretion of the Selection Committee). In 2018, Porsche scored a one-two in the LMGTE Pro for its 70th anniversary with two historic liveries and decided to keep its winning driver line-ups.  

The #91 Porsche 911 RSR will be entrusted to Richard Lietz, Gianmaria Bruni and Fred Makowiecki, and 2018 winners Kévin Estre, Michael Christensen and Laurens Vanthoors will share the #92.

At the wheel of the #93, Patrick Pilet will once again join forces with two previous 24 Hours of Le Mans overall winners: Nick Tandy (2015) and Earl Bamber (2015 and 2017). The only change from this year's running concerns the driver line-up for the #94. Only Sven Müller remains, expected to team up with French driver Mathieu Jaminet and Dennis Olsen since Romain Dumas and Timo Bernhard have committments in other programs.