24 Hours of Le Mans - AF Corse (LMGTE Pro)

24 Hours of Le Mans - AF Corse (LMGTE Pro)

This year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans sees a record number of entrants on the grid. We take a look at the 43 teams behind the 62 cars in the field. Here we give you the lowdown on LMGTE Pro team AF Corse

Team: AF Corse

Class: LMGTE Pro

Cars and Drivers:

#51 Ferrari 488 GTE EVO 

  • Alessandro Pier Guidi
  • James Calado
  • Daniel Serra

#71 Ferrari 488 GTE EVO

  • Davide Rigon
  • Sam Bird
  • Miguel Molina

Team Achievements

AF Corse has an illustrious track record in the FIA World Endurance Championship: the team founded by Amato Ferrari has led the Italian manufacturer of the same name (although no relation) to victory in all the GT Constructor titles every year since the championship began in 2012, apart from 2015. The pinnacle of the team’s success was undoubtedly the trio Giancarlo Fisichella, Gianmaria Bruni (since moved to Porsche) and Toni Vilander winning the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 2012 and 2014.

Team Goals for the 2019 24 Hours of Le Mans

The fact that the two Ferrari 488s fielded by AF (which stands for Amato Ferrari) Corse at Le Mans this year only ranked fourth and eighth on the Test Day time sheets should be taken with a pinch of salt, as 12 of the 17 competitors clocked times within less than a second of each other. This year, Ferrari is going after the win that has eluded them for the last five years and is dead set on reclaiming its place on the top step of the podium, 70 years after their first overall victory at Le Mans.