24 Hours of Le Mans – United Autosports (LMP2)

24 Hours of Le Mans – United Autosports (LMP2)

This year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans sees a record number of entrants on the grid. We take a look at the 43 teams behind the 62 cars in the field. Here we give you the lowdown on LMP2 team United Autosports

Team: United Autosports

Class: LMP2

Cars and Drivers:

#22 Ligier JS P217–Gibson

  • Philip (Phil) Hanson
  • Filipe Albuquerque
  • Paul Di Resta

#32 Ligier JS P217–Gibson

  • Ryan Cullen
  • Alex Brundle
  • William (Will) Owen

Team Achievements

United Autosports was founded back in 2009 by Zak Brown, the Executive Director of McLaren Technology Group, and Richard Dean, but only made its 24 Hours of Le Mans début in 2017. A fourth place in the LMP2 class standings gave the team the appetite to launch a full-season FIA WEC entry. A decision that soon paid dividends at Le Mans last June as Hugo de Sadeleer, Will Owen and Juan Pablo Montoya, the former F1 driver and two-time Indianapolis 500 winner (2000 and 2015), clinched third place in LMP2.

Team Goals at the 2019 24 Hours of Le Mans

As reigning Asian Le Mans Series LMP2 champions, United Autosports has firm hopes of joining in the podium celebrations at this year’s 24 Hours. Despite officially finishing third in class in 2018, the team was promoted to the top three following the post-race disqualification of a rival.