18 -19 juin 2016Automobile Club de l'Ouest

Accueil > News > Fiche actualité

30 cars and 90 years of the 24 Hours of Le Mans : The winners

The press conference of the 24 Hours of Le Mans 2013 saw the announcement of the results of the "90 years" vote. Also open to the public, the vote was to select the ten most iconic vehicles from thirty proposed historic race cars of the 24 hours, one per decade.

12000 fans 12000 followers
Share this post
Photo : Thomas DERON - Rolex
Photo : Thomas DERON - Rolex

The jury was comprised of(left to right in the photo above) Emanuele Pirro and Yannick Dalmas (former winners of the 24 Hours, with nine victories between them ), British journalist Gary Watkins, Norbert Singer (former chief engineer at Porsche), Jean Todt (President of the Fédération Internationale Automobile), Wolfgang Dürheimer (representing the motor sport activity of the Volkswagen Group), Pierre Fillon (president of the Automobile Club de l'Ouest, and chairman of the jury), Sir Lindsay Owen-Jones (president of the FIA Endurance Commission), Hervé Guyomard (Special heritage advisor to the ACO) former Japanese driver Yojiro Terada (30 participations at the 24 Heures), Rodolphe Rapetti (Curator of Heritage), and actor/driver Patrick Dempsey. Philippe Schaffer, the president of Rolex France, is also featured in the picture, between Pierre Fillon and Sir Lindsay Owen-Jones.

The cars selected (click their names to learn more about their history at Le Mans) are the Bentley Speed ​​Six, the Alfa Romeo 8C, the Ferrari 166 MM, Jaguar D Type, Ford GT40, the Porsche 917, the Porsche 956 the Mazda 787B, Peugeot 905, Audi R10 TDI and the Audi R18 e-tron quattro. You've probably noticed that there are eleven winners winners and not ten. It was impossible to separate the Mazda B 787 and Peugeot 905 so they jointly represent the 90's. These two prototypes are linked by a historical coincidence: in 1991, Mazda became the first (and so far only) Japanese manufacturer to win in La Sarthe, meanwhile the 905 made ​​its debut, before winning two years later. During the announcement of the results, Emanuele Pirro, who drove the Audi R10 TDI that won in 2006, said with his customary sense of humour that, for a list of the ten winners scheduled, it would have to be "a Mazda engine in the Peugeot".

The eleven cars will be exhibited in June in the Village of the 24 hours, and will also delight visitors to the traditional pitlane walk on Friday before the race (21st June). The 90th anniversary edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans will take place on the 22nd and 23rd June. Click HERE for ticket information.

Jean-Philippe Doret

Photo: HEAD OFFICE ROLEX FRANCE (PARIS), 1st FEBRUARY 2013. The jury voting for the 90 years collection with the trophy of the 90th anniversary edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

TicketsACO ClubOfficial Store

Facebook - Twitter - Google+ - Instagram - Lemans-TV

FIA World Endurance Championship Application: Download it on AppStore or Google Play

Share this post

The latest videos :

> all videos
The 24 Hours of Le Mans at the Osaka Auto Messe (Japan)
Though one will have to wait a few more weeks for the debut of the new Toyota TS050 Hybrid, the TS040...
The 24 Hours of Le Mans at the Osaka Auto Messe (Japan)
> More info...
Endurance - Weekly news recap
Every Saturday, we'll be bringing you a round-up of the news from our website over the past week so you...
Endurance - Weekly news recap
> More info...
Win a driving lesson with Patrick Long and Porsche!
Porsche is offering a unique opportunity to win a training camp experience with Patrick Long, official...
Win a driving lesson with Patrick Long and Porsche!
> More info...
The goods of   the official shop '24 Heures du Mans'
  • 24 Hours of Le Mans Car Onesie
  • 24 Hours of Le Mans Departure Reporter Bag
  • 2015 24 Hours of Le Mans DVD
  • 2015 24 Hours of Le Mans Book
  • 24 Hours of Le Mans Men Gulf Polo
  • 24 Hours of Le Mans Racing Softshell
  • 1959 24 Hours of Le Mans official poster
  • 24 Hours of Le Mans computer bag
  • Steve McQueen white T-shirt