24 Hours of Le Mans – SMP Racing (LMP1)

24 Hours of Le Mans – SMP Racing (LMP1)

This year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans sees a record number of entrants on the grid. We take a look at the 43 teams behind the 62 cars in the field. Here we give you the lowdown on LMP1 team SMP Racing.

Team: SMP Racing

Class: LMP1

Cars and Drivers:

#11 BR Engineering BR1-AER

  • Mikhail Aleshin (4 participations)
  • Vitaly Petrov (4 participations)
  • Stoffel Vandoorne (rookie)

#17 BR Engineering BR1-AER

  • Stéphane Sarrazin (17 participations)
  • Egor Orudzhev (2 participations)
  • Sergey Sirotkin (1 participation)

Team Achievements:

The team was formed in February 2013 by Boris Rotenberg to promote young Russian drivers. Co-owner of SMP Bank with his brother Arkadi, the oligarch has entered SMP Racing in the FIA WEC and ELMS championships since 2014. Since last year, the team has entrusted ART Grand Prix with the running of its two BR1s. Its first participation in the 24 Hours was challenging - the #17 wrecked at the Porsche curves and the #11 paralysed with engine problems - but the French outfit led by Sébastien Philippe has made great strides.

Team Goals at the 2019 24 Hours of Le Mans:

Third at Shanghai, Fuji and Spa, the team is taking on the 24 Hours with the goal of becoming the best "private" LMP1 competitor.


PHOTO: LE MANS (SARTHE, FRANCE), CIRCUIT DES 24 HEURES DU MANS, 2019 TEST DAY. Under the guidance of ART Grand Prix led by Sébastien Philippe, SMP Racing has lofty ambitions.