24 Hours of Le Mans 1970-2015 - 45 Porsche stories (12)

24 Hours of Le Mans 1970-2015 - 45 Porsche stories (12)

Among the 18 drivers whom have won with Porsche at the 24 Hours of Le Mans figure six German drivers. After Hans Herrmann, Hans-Joachim St

These three German drivers have proven unwaivering loyalty to Porsche at Le Mans...Manuel Reuter is the exception that proves the rule, with one participation - victorious - with Sauber Mercedes.

Jürgen Barth (born on December 10, 1947, winner in 1977) - With the Barths, the 24 Hours of Le Mans and Porsche are all about family. The father, Eddie, won three class victories at Le Mans (1958, '60 and '62). As for the son, Jürgen, he has been at the start of the 24 Hours 13 times at the wheel of a Porsche...and won the race in 1977 along with American driver Hurley Haywood and Belgian driver Jacky Ickx. A suspenseful victory: he brought to the checkered flag a damaged Porsche 936, rolling on only five cylinders. He was also a driver-engineer highly valued by Porsche.

Louis Krages, alias "John Winter" (August 12, 1949-January 11, 2001, winner in 1985) - This gentleman-driver raced under a pseudonym so as to hide his hobby as a driver from his family. He became a part of history 30 years ago: the trio he formed along with his fellow countryman Klaus Ludwig and Italian driver Paolo Barilla won at the wheel of a private 956 entered by Reinhold Joest, allowing Porsche - with a 10th win - to snatch from Ferrari the win record at the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Manuel Reuter (born on December 6, 1961, winner in 1996) - Among the six German drivers to win at Le Mans at the wheel of a Porsche, he is the only one to have won with another constructor. In 1989, he earned his first win at the 24 Hours in a Sauber-Mercedes along with Jochen Mass and Stanley Dickens. In 1996, he won his second 24 Hours of Le Mans along with Davy Jones and Alex Wurz, for his seventh and last participation, at the wheel of the Joest-Porsche TWR.

Jean-Philippe Doret / ACO - Translation by Nikki Ehrhardt / ACO

Photo: Copyright - ARCHIVES ACO 

Photo: LE MANS (SARTHE, FRANCE), CIRCUIT DES 24 HEURES, 24 HOURS OF LE MANS, SATURDAY & SUNDAY JUNE 15-16 1996, RACE. In 1996, Manuel Reuter, here at the wheel, was the last German driver to win at the 24 Hours of Le Mans at the wheel of a Porsche.