24 Hours of Le Mans 1970-2015 - 45 Porsche stories (33)

24 Hours of Le Mans 1970-2015 - 45 Porsche stories (33)

From 1981 to 1987, Porsche clinched seven consecutive wins, and while doing so beat two records held by Ferrari.

During the first half of the 1980s, Porsche exerted a domination as yet unseen at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, erasing two Ferrari-held records. In 1985, Klaus Ludwig, Paolo Barilla and John Winter won the German manufacturer's 10th victory at Le Mans, pushing aside Ferrari and its nine wins. Then in 1978, Derek Bell, Al Holbert and Hans Joachim Stück gave Porsche its seventh consecutive victory. Another record previously held by Ferrari, a winner six years in a row from 1960 to 1965.

These seven consecutive victories (out of a total of 16 between 1970 and 1998) were clinched by three different prototypes and 10 different drivers:
1981 - Jacky Ickx-Derek Bell (Porsche 936/81)
1982 - Jacky Ickx-Derek Bell (Porsche 956)
1983 - Al Holbert-Vern Schuppan-Hurley Haywood (Porsche 956)
1984 - Klaus Ludwig-Henri Pescarolo (Porsche 956)
1985 - Klaus Ludwig-Paolo Barilla-John Winter (Porsche 956)
1986 - Derek Bell-Hans Joachim Stück-Al Holbert (Porsche 962 C)
1987 - Derek Bell-Hans Joachim Stück-Al Hobert (Porsche 962 C)

Jean-Philippe Doret / ACO - Translation by Nikki Ehrhardt / ACO

Photo: LE MANS (SARTHE, FRANCE), CIRCUIT DES 24 HEURES, 24 HOURS OF LE MANS, SATURDAY & SUNDAY JUNE 13-14 1987, RACE. Derek Bell, Hans-Joachime Stück and Al Holbert won a seventh consecutive victory for Porsche. They were also members of the first three-driver driver line-up to win two years in a row.