24 Hours of Le Mans – DragonSpeed (LMP1 and LMP2)

24 Hours of Le Mans – DragonSpeed (LMP1 and LMP2)

This year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans sees a record number of entrants on the grid. We take a look at the 43 teams behind the 62 cars in the field. Here we bring you the lowdown on DragonSpeed, present in both the LMP1 and LMP2 classes.

Team: DragonSpeed


Class: LMP1

Car and Drivers:

#10 BR Engineering BR1–Gibson

  • Henrik Hedman (2 participations)
  • Ben Hanley (2 participations)
  • Renger Van Der Zande (1 participation)


Class: LMP2

Car and Drivers:

#31 Oreca 07-Gibson

  • Roberto Gonzalez (2 participations)
  • Pastor Maldonado (1 participation)
  • Anthony Davidson (10 participations, World Endurance Champion with Sébastien Buemi in 2014)

Team Achievements

For the Super Season, DragonSpeed has opted for a BR Engineering BR1-Gibson in the LMP1 class. The team has spent a lot of time focused on the car’s development and the #10 has not yet made it on to the podium.

Meanwhile, in LMP2, the #31 Oreca 07-Gibson has performed well, especially at Shanghai where it placed second in class.


Team Goals at the 2019 24 Hours of Le Man

Currently fifth in the FIA World Endurance Championship LMP1 standings with 8.5 points, the #10 BR1-Gibson can no longer hope for a championship podium spot. It could, however, still upset the running order at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, and aim for a place in the top three before bowing out of the LMP1 class. The car will be sporting a Gulf livery, which proved lucky for the race winners in 1968, 1969 and 1975.

In the LMP2 class, the DragonSpeed #31 Oreca 07-Gibson is currently fourth in the standings for the FIA Endurance Trophy for LMP2 Teams with 117 points. It is just behind the #38 and #37 cars fielded by Jacky Chan DC Racing, which have 139 and 138 points respectively. The #31 will therefore go into battle fully motivated, with a 24 Hours podium spot in its sights and a chance of making it into the top three in the championship.

DragonSpeed will not be racing a full FIA WEC World Endurance Championship in 2019-20, but will enter some races. The team has instead chosen to focus on the ELMS and the Indycar single-seater series in the United States.


PHOTO: LE MANS (SARTHE, FRANCE), PLACE DE LA REPUBLIQUE, MONDAY 10 JUNE 2019, SCRUTINEERING. The #10 BR Engineering BR1-Gibson is about to enter the Scrutineering enclosure.