FIA WEC – DragonSpeed announces LMP2 return with Juan Pablo Montoya

FIA WEC – DragonSpeed announces LMP2 return with Juan Pablo Montoya

DragonSpeed will run an Oreca 07-Gibson in the FIA WEC next season. The LMP2 entry will be driven by Henrik Hedman, Ben Hanley and former Formula 1 driver, Juan Pablo Montoya.

DragonSpeed, the only LMP2 team to have won races in the FIA World Endurance Championship, the European Le Mans Series and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, is all set to rejoin the FIA WEC next season. The US-based outfit will drive its campaign from new facilities at Montmeló, Spain, close to the Barcelona circuit. In addition to racing in the six WEC rounds, including the 24 Hours of Le Mans (12-13 June 2021), it will be in the hunt for a third straight LMP2 triumph at the Rolex 24 at Daytona in January.

DragonSpeed will continue to keep faith in the Gibson-engined Oreca 07 chassis. The car will be shod with tyres manufactured by Goodyear, the exclusive tyre supplier to the LMP2 class in 2021. The team approaches the close season in a positive frame of mind after Ben Hanley clocked the fastest time in a test session organised by Goodyear at Barcelona last week.  Next season, the British driver will team up with Henrik Hedman and Juan Pablo Montoya, the former Formula One driver who joined the American team at Le Mans in September. “I’m really excited to be joining DragonSpeed for the full WEC season,” said the former winner of the Monaco Grand Prix, Indianapolis 500 and the 24 Hours of Daytona. “I had an amazing experience with them this year at Le Mans and I’m looking forward to racing again at so many classic venues with such a great group of people.” 

Founded in 2007, DragonSpeed has raced four times at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, with a fifth place in LMP2 in 2018 its best result. It entered two Oreca 07-Gibson LMP2s in 2020. Ignition issues held up the #21 car’s progress during the race until it finally retired after 192 laps. The #27 finished 12th in the class standings.

PHOTO: LE MANS (SARTHE, FRANCE), CIRCUIT DES 24 HEURES DU MANS, 24 HOURS OF LE MANS, THURSDAY 17 SEPTEMBER 2020, FREE PRACTICE. The #27 Oreca 07-Gibson of US outfit DragonSpeed was driven by Henrik Hedman, Ben Hanley and Renger van der Zande.