The 2019 24 Hours of Le Mans for Aston Martin Racing (LMGTE Pro and LMGTE Am)

The 2019 24 Hours of Le Mans for Aston Martin Racing (LMGTE Pro and LMGTE Am)

43 teams (fielding 61 cars) competed in the 87th 24 Hours of Le Mans, the Super Finale of the FIA WEC 2018-19 World Endurance Championship. There were winners, of course, but also mechanical glitches, track incidents and early retirements. Joy for some, disappointment for others... Here’s a summary of the 24 Hours of Le Mans for the Aston Martin Racing team, which ran in the LMGTE Pro and LMGTE Am classes.

Team: Aston Martin Racing

Class: LMGTE Pro

Car: #95 Aston Martin Vantage AMR


  • Nicki Thiim (6th participation)
  • Marco Sørensen (5th participation)
  • Darren Turner (17th participation)

Marco Sørensen qualified the Aston Martin Vantage AMR in pole position in the LMGTE Pro class with a time of 3:48.000. During the race, the car was forced to retire after an incident for Sørensen at the Indianapolis corner overnight.

Car: #97 Aston Martin Vantage AMR


  • Maxime Martin (2nd participation)
  • Alexander Lynn (4th participation)
  • Jonathan Adam (3rd participation)

Alexander Lynn qualified the car in 42nd position with a time of 3:50.037 during the first session. In the race, Lynn left the track at the Porsche curves on Sunday at 00:05, costing the British team 50 minutes and all hopes of a good result. The #97 Aston Martin Vantage AMR made it to the chequered flag in 44th place overall and 13th in LMGTE Pro.


Class: LMGTE Am

Car: #98 Aston Martin Vantage


  • Paul Dalla Lana (6th participation)
  • Pedro Lamy (19th participation)
  • Mathias Lauda (4th participation)

Pedro Lamy qualified the Aston Martin Vantage in 56th position with a time of 3:53.530 during the first session. In the race, the engine of the Aston Martin Vantage broke down and it was forced to retire.

PHOTO: LE MANS (SARTHE, FRANCE), CIRCUICT DES 24 HEURES DU MANS, SATURDAY 15 JUNE 2019, WARM-UP. The #97 Aston Martin Vantage of Aston Martin Racing driven by Maxime Martin, Alexander Lynn and Jonathan Adam.