The 2019 24 Hours of Le Mans for DragonSpeed (LMP1 and LMP2)

The 2019 24 Hours of Le Mans for DragonSpeed (LMP1 and LMP2)

43 teams (fielding 61 cars) competed in the 87th 24 Hours of Le Mans, the Super Finale of the FIA WEC 2018-19 World Endurance Championship. There were winners, of course, but also mechanical glitches, track incidents and early retirements. Joy for some, disappointment for others... Here’s a summary of the 24 Hours of Le Mans for the DragonSpeed team, which ran in the LMP1 and LMP2 classes.

Team: DragonSpeed

Class: LMP1

Car: #10 BR Engineering BR1-Gibson


  • Henrik Hedman (3rd participation)
  • Ben Hanley (3rd participation)
  • Renger van der Zande (2nd participation)

For the 87th running of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, the #10 BR Engineering BR1-Gibson sported a livery in the colours of Gulf Oil. Ben Hanley qualified the car in seventh position with a time of 3:20.200 clocked during the first session. In the race, the American team was forced to retire with a broken gearbox in the 12th hour.

Class: LMP2

Car: #31 ORECA 07-Gibson

  • Roberto Gonzalez (3rd participation)
  • Pastor Maldonado (2nd participation)
  • Anthony Davidson (11th participation)

This car was a favourite in the LMP2 class going into the race. During qualifying, despite contact made with the #7 Toyota at the Raccordement turn, Pastor Maldonado placed the #31 ORECA 07-Gibson in 10th position with a time of 3:25.667. During the race, the American team continued to figure in the LMP2 top 5 until Maldonado left the track at the Tertre Rouge corner on Sunday at 07:11. The prototype was too damaged to return to the track and was therefore forced to retire. 


PHOTO: LE MANS (SARTHE, FRANCE), CIRCUIT DES 24 HEURES DU MANS, MONDAY 10 JUNE 2019, SCRUTINEERING. For the 87th running of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, American team DragonSpeed fielded a BR Engineering BR1-AER in LMP1 and an ORECA 07-Gibson in LMP2.